AJ History

First 100 Years


The first volume of The National Amateur

Excerpts from accounts 1879 convention

In 1891 at Philadelphia

NAPA's first permanent constitution

Pillow fight

Almost fatal doldrums

1926 marked the semi-centennial

Little remembered giant

The Torpedo

The Mailing Bureau

Library of Amateur Journalism

Ralph Babcock

Presidents' Field

Tryout Smith

Thrift & Edkins


Amateur Press Clubs

Philadelphia Connections

National Amateur Press Association
The First 100 Years: Flashbacks...

The 1878 (Chicago) conclave adopted the NAPA's first permanent constitution, creating the laureate awards encouraging literary efforts. Each year the title of laureate was to be awarded to the best author of poems, essays, serials and sketches—the judges being persons of recognized note in the professional field. (Among those serving as judges have Edwin A. Markham, Edmund Clarence Stedman, Burton E. Stevenson, Charlotte Porter, Eugene Field, Ella Wheeler Wilcox, Owen Wistar, Zona Gale, Julian Hawthorne, Charles Edward Stowe, Frank H. Converse, Edward W. Bok, Charles King, Horatio Alger, Jr., and Stephen Fiske.)

    Last updated: 01/16/2000